Automated management is not a guarantee of returns. Review each provider’s advisory disclosures, portfolio approach, underlying fund costs, account minimums, and human support before choosing.

Published product features, costs, platforms, and tradeoffs
Compare the facts

Betterment

Robo-Advisors

Visit site ↗

Wealthfront

Robo-Advisors

Visit site ↗
OverviewBetterment is a U.S. digital investing and cash-management platform offering automated portfolios, self-directed stock and ETF investing, retirement accounts, financial planning, and cash products. Automated investing uses diversified ETF portfolios with trading, rebalancing, and tax-management features. Betterment also offers optional advisor access through its Premium plan and provides customer support for account questions.Wealthfront is a US consumer financial platform offering automated, globally diversified investment portfolios and self-directed brokerage access to ETFs and stocks. It also provides a Cash Account with checking features, automated savings and transfers, bill payment, debit-card access, and transfers between cash and investing accounts.
PricingAutomated investing is $5/month below a $24,000 balance or 0.25% annually with qualifying recurring deposits or balances; Premium is 0.65% annually and requires $100,000 in eligible investments. Cash Reserve has no monthly management fee.Automated investing pricing is not stated on the reviewed pages; self-directed brokerage is presented with no fees and a $1 minimum, while the Cash Account lists a $0 account fee.
AccessCheck access terms

A free managed-robo plan was not verified. Cash Reserve has no monthly management fee, and self-directed stock and ETF trading has no commissions, but these are separate products rather than a confirmed free automated-investing plan.

Check access terms

A free robo-advisor plan was not verified. The reviewed pages describe no-fee self-directed brokerage and a $0 Cash Account fee; these are separate brokerage and cash offerings, not confirmation of free automated portfolio management.

PlatformsNot confirmed in reviewed sources; check provider documentation.Mobile app
Key features
  • Automated diversified ETF portfolios
  • Self-directed stock and ETF investing
  • Tax-management technology and portfolio rebalancing
  • Traditional, Roth, SEP IRA, and Solo 401(k) accounts
  • Automated, globally diversified investment portfolios
  • Self-directed brokerage for ETFs and stocks
  • Cash Account with checking and bill-payment features
  • Automated savings and recurring transfers
What stands out
  • Combines automated investing with self-directed and cash-management options.
  • Offers portfolio automation features including trading, rebalancing, and tax management.
  • Combines delegated portfolio management with self-directed investing options
  • Cash Account supports spending, bill payment, and transfers alongside investing
Considerations
  • Automated investing carries a management fee, with Premium priced separately.
  • Premium access requires a $100,000 eligible investment balance.
  • Automated investing pricing was not stated on the reviewed official pages
  • Cash Account is not a bank account and uses program banks for deposits
Official sources

Checked November 5, 2026

Checked November 5, 2026

Explore furtherView Betterment details →View Wealthfront details →

How to use this comparison

Start with the features, account types, and level of support you need. Then read the linked official disclosures for current pricing, availability, and limitations. A feature list alone cannot tell you whether a service is appropriate for your circumstances.

This is a comparison of published facts, not a rating, a performance prediction, or personalized investment advice. Our pricing summaries are not a complete fee schedule.

Customize this comparison +Read our comparison guide →